On various days when trials seem to occur rapidly throughout the day, I sometimes end up noticing I need an attitude adjustment. For instance, this past week I had my fair share of frustrations and disappointments and my attitude was shining through. On one exhausting afternoon I was questioning what to have for dinner and asked myself, “What am I going to bring to the table?” I must say I don’t bring too much to the table because my husband makes dinner more often than I.  However, in the moment I noticed I had been bringing plenty of hardy meals to the table in the last week filled with various ingredients such as complaints, worry, frustration, exhaustion and whatever else I had in my cabinet.  Have you ever had any of those ingredients in your cabinet? I know there are others, like me, who have been whipping, baking, cooking, or steaming up things for hours, days, weeks or even years, and when we end up sitting down with our friends and family this Thanksgiving they are going to taste anger, bitterness, resentment, hatred, jealousy and other ingredients we’ve stored and poured into our meals.

This week after tasting one of my nauseating meals I decided to read 1 Peter 2:1-2. It says, “Rid yourselves, therefore, of all malice, and all guile, insincerity, envy, and all slander. Like newborn infants, long for the pure, spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow into salvation – if indeed you have tasted that the Lord is good.” How ironic I had worked so hard at making an ELABORATE disaster-tasting dish, and all I needed to do was bring a good old fashion glass of milk? Sometimes we need to get back to the basics. Hebrews 5:12-14 says, “You need milk, not solid food, for everyone who lives on milk, being still an infant, is unskilled in the word of righteousness. But solid food is for the mature, for those whose faculties have been trained by practice to distinguish good from evil.” As easy as it is to taste a meal and discern right away if it is awful, we need to taste and discern the meal that has been cooked in our own heart. This Thanksgiving I encourage you to not only taste wonderful dishes that will be put on a table, but look at the meals you have cooked and the ingredients you have stored in your heart. If a meal needs to be thrown out, or just the ingredients in your cabinet, throw it! If you end up having to start from scratch, don’t worry; there is enough time and plenty of fresh ingredients in Christ’s cabinet to have the best Thanksgiving yet!

Leave a Reply

